R.C. Chapman’s S.O.S. 2:17

By Robert C. Chapman

 

“Until the day break, and the shadows flee away, turn, my Beloved, and be like a roe or a young hart upon the mountains of Bether”. (Song of Solomon 2:17)

 

Lord, You have brought me out of darkness into marvelous light! In Your light! Old things have passed away, all things have become new! (2nd Corinthians 5:17) My soul, admiring the glories of Your grace, sees a new heaven and a new earth, which I once had no eyes to see!

What shall I render to You because of Your rising upon my soul that was covered by darkness? Calling to mind my former time of ignorance and hatred, says my soul, it is now no more night, but noonday! You are the brightness of the glory of God! Your light is infinite! No clouds surround You, nor shadows of the law.  I do not come to Sinai, the mountain of blackness and tempest, but to Mount Zion, to God the judge of all, and Jesus the Mediator of the new Covenant, and to the blood of sprinkling, which speaks better than that of Abel!

The way into holiness is now made clear, and I have boldness of access there by the blood of my Lord! But if I take account of my profiting and knowledge of You, alas! I am of yesterday, and know nothing.

I chide you, my soul, and ask, why so dull of understanding, why so little you know of the glorious One and altogether lovely? O pity, Lord! Your needy one! Yes, You know my nature, and You pity me! You see, that while caged in this house of clay, I could not endure to behold You face to face: at such a sight I should, like him who once leaned on Your heart, fall at Your feet as dead!

So long as I sojourn here, (detained a little while for Your glory) You will not oppress me with Your brightest beams, the shadows still hide You in part, and I see through a glass darkly.  Lord! I wait for the time, I wait for it more than they that watch for the morning, when I will behold You face to face! I long for Your glorious appearing; but my waiting is patient, for You are indeed swift to help me: as a roe and a young hart leaping over the mountains of separation.

Your Spirit make me triumph now in You, and to rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory! And I know, when the vision will come, I will say, “It did not tarry or lie.”

 

[This has completed R.C. Chapman’s book on the Song of Solomon]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.